Head_to_left_of_3_line_rts_small_bannerRoyal Television Society

Royal Television Society announces 2017 Student TV Award winners

Katherine Ryan & Philip Edgar-JonesThe Royal Television Society (RTS), Britain's leading forum for television and related media, has announced the winners of its RTS Student Television Awards 2017.

The winners were revealed at a ceremony, hosted by comedian, writer, presenter and actress, Katherine Ryan, on Friday 16 June at the BFI Southbank. 

Chaired by the Director of Sky Arts - Philip Edgar-Jones, the awards ceremony recognises the best audio-visuals created by undergraduate and postgraduate students across the UK and the Republic of Ireland.

Most of the winners are from higher education institutions that currently run Creative Skillset Tick accredited courses. To find out more about our Tick accredited courses - please see here.

Detailed below are this year’s winners, including their TV awards and place of study:

Undergraduate awards winners:

Arts University Bournemouth

  • Judges’ Award for Bleach | Ania Polewiak, Ike Newman & Jesse Lewis-Reece
  • Undergraduate Drama Award for Bleach | Ania Polewiak, Ike Newman & Jesse Lewis-Reece
  • Undergraduate Craft Skills – Camerawork Award for Bleach | Jacob Gerrard

Falmouth University

  • Undergraduate Craft Skills - Production Design Award for I Am Dyslexic | Mads Ogaard & Katie Wyman

Kingston University

  • Undergraduate Animation Award for Tough | Jennifer Zheng

University for the Creative Arts

  • Undergraduate Short Feature Award for Nymphs | Tudor Massaci
  • Undergraduate Craft Skills - Editing Award for Nymphs | Tudor Massaci 

University of Bristol

  • Undergraduate Craft Skills - Sound Award for Heist | Oliver RobertsUniversity of Central Lancashire
  • Undergraduate Comedy & Entertainment Award for Headless: The Ed Shales Story | Yousef Thami, Liberty Shaw, Jake River Parker & Heather Davenport 

University of Salford       

  • Undergraduate News Award for Life as a Refugee | Jennifer Henry 

University of the West of England

  • Undergraduate Factual Award for The Wall | Christy Tattershall, Matt Pidala, Alex Handschuh, Edd Roberts & Patrick Royall

Postgraduate award winners:

National Film and Television School

  • Postgraduate Comedy & Entertainment Award for The Love Gym | Raphael Beaulieu & Marika Santala
  • Postgraduate Drama Award for Ferris & The Fancy Pigeon | James Gardner & Helene Sifre
  • Postgraduate Factual Award for Uprooted | Ross Domoney, Joseph Comar, Tom Jenkins, Marina Elderton & Tim Parris
  • Postgraduate Craft Skills – Camerawork Award for Mia | Krzysztof Trojnar
  • Postgraduate Craft Skills – Production Design Award for Mia | Joelle Aoun
  • Postgraduate Craft Skills – Sound Award for Mia | Eleanor Nicholls
  • Postgraduate Craft Skills – Editing Award for The Sunflower Inn | Dennis Mabry 

Royal College of Art

  • Postgraduate Animation Award for The Grey Hound | Josh Saunders

Congratulations are due to all the winners and nominees,  ensuring the UK remains a source of world-leading film and TV skills.

Full information and details of the event can be found here.


Sign up to our email newsletter for all the latest news and updates from across the screen-based creative industries to help your career, project or company.

Sign up